anti-glare night driving glasses

There have been a few comments on the forum about glare from oncoming cars with LED headlights. Several people I know have virtually given up driving at night because of the glare from headlights. The RAC has just asked the government to take action following a survey that 85% of drivers feel that glare from headlights is getting worse and the blame is aimed at LED headlamps.

Since it is unlikely that the government will take any action on LEDs then the alternative is for the driver to wear anti-glare driving glasses. I have looked online and there seem to be a few available with a yellow or grey tint and/or polarising lenses. I have no experience of wearing these. Does the yellow tint have any effect? I have used polarising lenses in the past on a SLR camera to reduce reflections on water to some effect. I have also used mirror sunglasses which are very good driving into direct sunlight although quite what the effect is for oncoming drivers who see a driver with 2 suns as eyes remains to be seen.

So over to the forum - what are best driving glasses for night driving to reduce glare of LED headlights?

Keith

I'm not sure any grey-tinted glasses will help Keith - apart from many older people needing them to have prescription lenses. For me it's the intense brightness, poor aiming and sharp cut-off of some modern lights.  The problem is the contrast between on-coming lights (particularly from a stream of cars) and the much darker patch in front of me (particularly on un-lit roads), where I am trying to see where I am heading. Dark glasses will just make that dark patch even darker, so won't help at all. 

Earlier this month I was driving East on the A303 late at night, with nothing else going my way but a seemingly ceaseless stream coming in the other direction. Even though I was in the 'modern' with decent halogen lamps, it was most unpleasant at times on the unlit sections. 

Edited by RobH