4 pot cam shaft/valve timing

Hi Folks,

I'm trying to set the valve timing on my 4A engine.

I have a new camshaft, new cam sprocket and new crank sproket.

I can find TDC (piston stop part way down the bore). I have a timing degree wheel.

Initially I used the original cam and crank sprockets to set the cam in the correct place (they have the original factory marks)

With the cam positioned, the sprocket is removed and the new sprocket fitted.

However this is easier said than done - things move.

Also the WSM shows the valves opening and closing at 17 BTDC and 57 ABDC.

This is all well and good but the valves are ramped up to being fully open and the beginning of the ramp (cam) is vague.

It isn;t 1 or 2 degrees about 17/57 but could be anything.

Is there a more snappy way of doing this.

I haven't got the head on at present so the other method of balancing 7/8 are awkward.

Any advice welcome

Roger

Don sent this a while ago in your TR4 engine rebuild post

Roger, if you haven't seen it yet, here's Mark Macy's writeup on "degreeing a cam".

http://www.macysgara.../cam_degree.htm

Basicaly use a dial gauge to find exact piston TDC, then again on a push rod to find cam TDC. Then use crank mounted angle gauge to set the two correctly.

Bob.

It is not recommended to measure the timing at beginning and end of lobe.

Also at the top of the lobe is not good place to measure.

Lots of crank degrees perform poor lift of valves there!

With that two ways of keying in are possible.

First the easy way if inlet and exhaust are symmetrial:

At TDC both valves must be open same height

The second way:

Advertised duration is 17 + 57 + 180 degrees = 254

Spread is 254/2 - 17 = 110 degrees

110 degrees is the max lift point of cam.

As we can not measure that precise we measure

at a position where the valve opens or closes quickly.

Lets say we take 50degrees (110-60) after TDC and 170 degrees (110 + 60)

and at those points the lift must be the same.