TR6 Lightweight Flywheel

I'm soon to be rebuilding a prefix MG engine fitted to a TR6. Does anyone know what lightweight flywheel this will require? The long back crank or short back crank?

Cheers

Steve

Fitting a light weight flywheel is probably the best improvement to drivability you can do.

I have just sold a brand new racestorations flywheel (also available from Moss) but remember to add in the price of the ringear and having it fitted plus the uprated flywheel to crank bolts (eye wateringly expensive).

As an alternative just get your existing flywheel lightened. The last one I did cost about £60 in machining charges and what a difference!!

What's the point of a lightweight flywheel on a road car? I've no experience either way but on the web the for and against camps seem divided. For road/track maybe it makes sense I suppose.

I am quite surprised that there is even a debate about lightening or fitting a lightweight flywheel. Perhaps it is because the naysayers have never done it, or never driven a car fitted with a light flywheel. In any case it is for the owner to decide.

The benefit is that the engine/car becomes very nimble from pull away and low speed performance ie in traffic/town conditions. The 6 flywheel is a big heavy beast, that's how the engines were built in those days. If you take a modern fiesta and compare it with one of the first generation the flywheel is now so much lighter which makes the modern version feel bright and nimble instead of sluggardly. This is because less power is being used to spin up the flywheel. So how lightening a flywheel be seen as anything other than an improvement?

I bet someone comes back with tickover.