Hi I'm new to tr ownership and am restoring a 1958 tr3 on the heritage certificate it says the colour is flame red iv only seen signal red on the colour charts?. The spare wheel is also body colour is this correct? finally the bonnet has 4vents not 2 and was original flame red when I stripped it back so I think it is the original bonnet any help would be appreciated as  I am not familiar with this model thanks brian

Hi Brian,

Welcome to TR ownership, you have come to the best place for help.

Is it a 3 or 3A, 3A production started in September 1957, commission and body numbers would help identification.   Flame red is not a standard colour but S-T often experimented with colours and would sometimes paint a car to the customer's wishes.  TR2/3  * wheels were in body colour and TR3A ones were silver grey.

The four slot bonnet would be from an earlyish TR2.  

Mike

Edited by mike ellis
*Delete 'spare' as all 2/3 wheels are body colour

Thanks Mike look like it's had checkered history. The vin is ts25111 and is a home market car would it be a crime to leave the four slot bonnet on it fits perfectly I have a good two slot bonnet but the fits now were near as good. Great to work on a British car again last2 rests were a lancia spider and alpine g.t.a

Maybe a purist would object but those of us who are more pragmatic would probably leave it.  Having said that the four slot bonnet was discontinued at the same time that the scuttle vent was added, the reason possibly being that the two centre slots would direct under bonnet air directly into the vent when open.  I don't know how significant this could be. 

Early 4 slot bonnets are wider as the do not have to clear wing beading. The rear is also single skin. I am sure if you put out a request that someone would have a reasonable late one in the shed for a small fee. You would get more for a good condition early bonnet. 

Edited by Keith Wigglesworth