Considering which rear telescopic shock conversion to opt for?

Hi all,

Thanks to all those who offered help with the rear hubs for my TR5.

Ive decided to do the whole rear end in one go as its mad to take the thing to bits more than once.

So the shopping list is, bearing in mind this ones my long term keeper.

Reinforce rear diff mounts.

New hubs both sides (both shot), hoping to uprate hubs and shafts at the same time.

Telescopic shock conversion, and here's my question. Having looked at all the options out there I favour this offering:

http://www.moss-europe.co.uk/graphics/uk/homebanners/new0510/TT3225_web.jpg

Seems to me its by far and away the neatest, least bulky, and elegant solution out there.

Best of all it also ties the body and chassis together and doesn't put any loading through the inner wing.

I'm no engineer but this has to be the best design doesn't it? Or am I unaware of, or missing something, or is there something better still out there??

Opinions and experiences for and against would be much appreciated.

Also while i'm on here, anyone got any nice TR5 rear stanpart wings collecting dust they would like to sell :) . I dream....

Many thanks as always,

Tim

Tim don't do it. Buy a 25% uprated pair of new, not rebuilt, lever arms, fit and forget. Been down your chosen route and couldn't wait to get back to a sensible ride again.

Just my tuppence worth and all that rubbish

Alan

I have to say that I like the racetorations ally rear shock conversion.

Beautifully made.

Steve

Ps, Proptech for replacement drive shafts.

The elliptical movement of the lever arm mimics the rear trailing arm movement described as an arc far closer than a linear telescopic shock absorber fitment, and gives superior ride characteristics in my opinion.

Sometimes it really is better just to renovate components rather than follow the crowd, especially when it's better and cheaper.

Mick Richards