Potterton kingfisher mf

So just a few days before Christmas and my boiler decided it didn't want to play anymore. After ringing 5 plumbers with nobody willing to come around till the new year I'm wondering if there is something I could do myself to get it working again for a few weeks. Its a potterton kingfisher mf fitted in 1999 and there is no sign of life. As I understand the fan needs to turn before the gas valve will open and try and light. My fan won't start but according to the voltage tester the supply is live. The fan turns freely by hand and the bearings feel fine. Any retired heating engineers got any tips a complete novice could try before he gives up please

Regards Richard 

16715603757794218125749831039116.jpg

I'm not a heating engineer but if there is definitely a supply voltage there the winding may have gone open-circuit , so  you probably just need a new fan - but you are unlikely to get one delivered this side of Christmas.  There seem to be two different ones depending on the boiler:

https://www.boilerparts.co.uk/Ranges/POTTERTON/KINGFISHER/KINGFISHER MF CF90/242084?

https://www.boilerparts.co.uk/Ranges/POTTERTON/KINGFISHER/KINGFISHER MF CF90/242083POT?mode=triplemode=triple

You can do a basic resistance check of the motor winding if you have a multimeter.  

Edited by RobH

Hi Richard,

If you've got a multimeter and feel confident to have a go, there's a fault-finding guide on page 32 onwards of the manual which this link takes you too (it'll download a PDF file). If not, is there someone local to you who might give you a hand? If you can identify the faulty part that would be a good start.

https://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=&ved=2ahUKEwjd_aaMkYn8AhVaQkEAHWM2BwUQFnoECDUQAQ&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.acwilgar.co.uk%2Fboiler-manual-pdf%2Fpotterton%2Fpotterton_kingfisher_mf%20cfl%2040-100_install%207.pdf&usg=AOvVaw1Kg1sZx8sqe-qr6dbJg2ug