Wiring extra spot lamps

As a fairly novice electrician I have a problem with my two front mounted spot lamps. These are mounted on a bar at the front of the grille.

I used a four terminal relay attached up under the front panel bar. I understand that the relay is really a switch which will, when activated connect the main cable to the accessory.

I took a cable from the regulator terminal A in the same size as the existing cable on terminal A, up to the relay and on from the relay to each spot lamp which was then earthed back to the earthing clamp inside the engine bay. This does not become a live connection in the relay until activated.

I took a cable from the high beam headlamp feed behind the headlamp to the relay switch which was earthed through the pull switch on the dashboard. So this would only be live when the headlamps are on full beam and the pull switch operated.

I may have failed to understand this in some way. The spot lamps worked well for some time. However they both failed to operate at the same time, and after some investigation it appeared that the units had become very hot and melted the rubber grommets which prevent the reflector from vibrating. After cleaning up the contacts the lamps worked for a few minutes in the garage, until one lamp packed up. The cable to it is live and a new bulb should work. I used a heavy cable for the feed, brown with a white stripe. I imagined a water analogy and that a smaller cable might not be able to cope.

Why have my lamps heated so much that the contacts need cleaning and the rubber spacers melted? I am sure that there is a member who understands the demands of the lights and can help me with the correct repair. Thanks

Hi Richard,

what is the wattage of the each spot bulb - 60watts = 5 amps.

Most cable will survive this current.

The heat inside the lamp could be caused by a dry solder joint or a high resistance joint.