What have I got!?

Hi, i'm quite new to TRs and have just joined the register. I recently bought what I thought was TR3a which was accident damaged and am in the process of restoring it. I am having problems identifying it as it has had the ID plates removed. I would like to know if it is a 2, 3 or 3a. Also does any one know if it is possible to get the original commission numbers from this info?

The car is a South African re-import.

The v5 states it was first registered in 1957.

The engine number is TS16646E

Gearbox TS16683

Number stamped on chassis is 224.

The rear floor is from an early car and it has no plinths for rear indicators but does have holes drilled for them.

The front panel when I bought the car was a badly damaged tr3a and it came with a new 3a front panel so I assumed it was a 3a.

The inner wings have holes for light recesses.

Any info would be appreciated,

Many thanks, Tom

Hi Tom,

Hope you enjoy your purchase!

My 1957 TR3 has chassis number just below TS20,000 and engine number at just over, so it's probably safe to say yours isn't a TR3a.

Mine also came with a wide mouth, which was fitted by the previous owner in the 1970s.

Sure that others will give you chapter and verse!

Malcolm

Your engine and gearbox numbers are close together so these are probably correct (as in "original"). What with about 300 engines having been sold to Morgan, I would guess that your VIN or chassis number on the skuttle should be about TS 16350. I have some numbers of cars from TRSC (Triumph Register of Southern California) and the closest number before this is TS 15335 L (the L is for Left Hand Drive), listed as a small mouth TR3. This TR3 was built on January 4th, 1957.

On page 112 of Bill Piggott's book, he notes that the first TR3 built in 1957 was TS 14999 L so yours is definitely from early 1957.