Tank outlet diameter increase

Hello,

I would appreciate your hints / solutions on the following:

I want to increase my fuel tank outlet diameter to reduce pressure losses to the Bosch pump.

Current outlet inner diameter is 6.5 mm.

I contacted Revington, and they informed me they do not sell a bigger nipple/fitting because in rheir experience it is not needed for the Bosch pump.

I realize their experience is much (much) more than mine, but being a subborn engineer, I feel that fitting a bigger process diameter feed line to the pump is better, especially because I intend to install a good (and big) fuel filter in this line, not just a "pre-filter", and this will be a restriction.

An increase in available inlet pressure will also increase the allowable fuel temperature before cavitation occurs.

Has anyone bought or made such a fitting?

A sketch would be great.

I think an increase to 8.5 or even 9 mm should be possible.

Off course, the seat for the olive in the original tank fitting has to be drilled out, otherwise the benefit is nil.

Regards,

Waldi

Additional info:

My Bosch 996 pump has an inlet ferrule of 12 mm OD and almost 9 mm ID.

Edited by Waldi

Hi Waldi

I bought one from Malcolm Jones at Prestige injection last year,machined from solid brass and well made.

I think it cost around £20 .

Brian

Interesting. I’m about to renew filter and some old pipes on my 1990’s bosch setup.

Does Malcolm’s new fitting just screw in, or is there more to it?

Steve

Thank you all.
I did send Prestige an e-mail, twice, they did not respond, apparently busy or not interested.
I have ordered a ferrule 1/2" bsp to 12 mm on the www, see what that looks like. It will arrive in one or 2 weeks, will report back here.
Regards,
Waldi

Edit: 1/2"BSP is not the correct thread size!

Edited by Waldi

I called him too, he indicated he was busy and would reply but he never responded.

It's ok, I make mistakes too (others say????). I know Prestige are highly respected.