Gear box oil

I am having problems trying to check the level of the gear box oil - having an issue with the over drive. I don't have the benefit of a ramp only a couple of stands. Is it better to check this by taking off the tunnel inside the car and if so does this mean taking out the seats? Could someone confirm where I should locate this on the gearbox. This may seem obvious but I am new to this part of the car!! Thanks in advance. Paddy

Hi Paddy

You would be better buying a pair of ramps and a pair of axle stands, taking the gearbox cover off to check the oil level is a long tedious job which requires the seats and the radio frame to be removed, it's a lot of hassle.

The level/filler plug is high up on the passenger side but reasonably easily accessable when the car is up in the air.

Ron

It would be far less hassle to ask a garage if you can put it on a four poster for 5 minutes. If you have contacts there would be no problem, if not, then a drink may be in order, problem with trying to get under the car as it is now is that things are not level.

Wyn

There is a construction site near my office and I noticed today there are several small breeze blocks lying around that might be suitable for "borrowing". I plan to borrow 4 and put one under each wheel. With the addition of some jack stands under the chassis as a failsafe I reckon this will be a perfect way to keep the car level and create enough room to get under it

The easiest way I've found is to take it to an oil change place and let them remove the plug from underneath.