capping on screen frame

Its too hot for heavy work like fitting gearboxes, so I looked for a nice easy job that can be done outside on my terrace, under the shade of a tree.

The DPO had a habit of dropping the Surrey frame onto the alloy screen-capping and there were loads of dents around the two fixing holes.

It had also met with a nasty accident of the denting kind right in the middle.

Ages back I had my plating man strip off the anodise.

The dents are almost harder to photograph than remove but the first pic shows the kind of thing.

http://flickr.com/gp/90670218@N04/Z1e7f5/

I've had a bit of a go taking these out before stripping the anodise but now I decided to finish this off.

Pic 2 shows the same area after I have worked it.

From here I have three choices:

1. leave as is

2. chrome paint

3. bright anodise

I used nothing special and its not difficult. Except of course I have been working metal for 50 years.

You have to hit it of course. But almost never with steel. Done with a few offcuts of nylon and a nylon-faced hammer.

Small dings come out with a ring-file but you need to borrow a bit from the back face sometimes.

180 grit on a rubber-block to flat, 400 grit free-hand, used wet, to smooth.

And my secret weapon in a hand-drill to finish. Oh and a Noga for the edges.

4. do mine please

You dont need it, yours is better than about 95% of them out there anyway :)

Stuart.

Really inspirational Alan. I thought mine would be OK, at least for a while, but now I fear its another job to add to my endless re-build.

My vote would be to bright anodize - think of the protection.

Norman

Thanks for your reply Norman. Often I post stuff like this on here and get 1000 views and no replies.

They are a shy lot out there.

I spent two pleasant afternoons messing with this capping which looked a bit wrecked before I started.

Cost was virtually nothing. Got to be one of the quickest and biggest improvements I've done.