Mounting oil Cooler

Hello have just bought a very nice TR3A (and joined the club), but would like to add a few goodies, i have purchased a overdrive, and hard top, will be fitting, i am mostly into MGs in particular Twin cams, i did however own a couple TRs back in the 60s would also like to fit oil cooler i have one from a MGA think would be the same ? where do you mount the cooler as i said i am new to TR ownership, find the forum very useful, are there any modifications you would recommend IE narrow fan belt, etc

Welcome to the Register & Forum.

Don't know why this hasn't received any responses, surely you can't be the first person to fit an oil cooler to a 3A?

Unfortunately, not having a sidescreen car I can't advise on oil cooler position, however make sure you mount it fairly flexibly (on rubber mounts or thin straps) to avoid the possibility of fracture.

I always used to hanker after a twink myself until I saw the light ;)

Jerry

I have an oil cooler fitted to my TR3A. It sits in front of the radiator on a bracket which I had made up so that there is a 2" space under it to allow air to flow to the radiator. There are two flexibles which run to the oil filter adaptor. One has the thermostat in it, fitted close to the LH front horn, and there is an adaptor plate which takes both flexibles and allows the filter to be fitted as before. This arrangement has worked well for many years and I have an oil temperature guage which confirms that the oil is never hot.

You will find that keeping the engine cool is another matter. My radiator and electric fan have got this problem in control also. There is a lot of discussion on the forum on cooling the TR3

Good luck with yours

Richard :)

Welcome to the Register & Forum.

Don't know why this hasn't received any responses, surely you can't be the first person to fit an oil cooler to a 3A?