Special tools for front end suspension rebuild

Hey Everyone,

I'm a newbie to the TR Register, so I apologize in advance if this question has already been asked. I am rebuilding the front suspension on my 1960 TR3A, and I want to make sure that I have all the right tools to remove and reassemble the parts. I would like to know which of the following tools are required, which are still available and from what sources, and which have substitutes available:

1. Churchill Tool No. M.50 (Spring Compressor)
  2. Churchill Turning Measuring Tool No.121U (for setting steering locks)
  3. Ball joint separators (does one size fit all of them?)
  4. Alignment Gauge (for front end alignment measurements)

And please consider that I live in the western U.S. Thanks for your help.

-Pete

post-5054-1185743729_thumb.jpg

post-5054-1185743729_thumb.jpg

A length of studding with two big washers to act as a spring compressor and possibly a local engineering shop for the reaming if necessary, are all you need.

Good luck Richard

Hi Pete,

In the States, Moss Motors.com can supply a TR spring compressor which hopefully would come with written instructions. Refitting the front springs is a task that needs to be double checked before each move, given the energy involved, and only carried by those completely confident in their skills.

You need to consult a Workshop Manual to set up the correct end float tolerances on the lower outer fulcrum.

The outer lower wishbone bushes had to be reamed out after pressing into the arms on the last suspension rebuild I did, to suit the trunnion pins. Moss may be able

to supply the reamer, or obtain it locally as Richard said, as it is not a TR specific tool.

Best regards,

Viv.

Hello Pete,

Just a few weeks ago I stripped a 3a chassis to have it cleaned.

Removing the springs is something you have to be careful with.

unfortunately I didn't have the correct Churchill Tool.