I'm new in the world of TR's. Not in the world of Triumph and there it is again: a thing that is familiar to all Triumph owners: cooling problems.

I bought myself a dismantled 1959 TR3A, with loads of (new and reconditioned) stuff in boxes; including a brand new radiator and the original fan. The front apron is off, so now I have the space to tackle some problems. And no, I've not encountered the cooling problems myself, but better safe than sorry.

I've seen several TR's with additional cooling, all fans in front of the radiator. Hence several questions:

Is there a cheaper/better alternative to Kenlowe (e.g. from an scrapped modern car?).

Is it wise to put the fan in front of the radiator? Doesn't it block off the airflow somehow? A pulling fan behind the radiator doesn't restrict the flow, but as I've seen, there's little space behind the radiator, which froms new problems (as I can imagine).

I live in The Netherlands, so our summers are moderate (or mildly moist). And, as you can see, that's also the reason that my English isn't that perfect.

Menno

menno

i have also got a TR3a and i know what you mean about the cooling?? or lack of it.

the wide mouth on the 3a looks great but a lot of air bypasses the radiator.

TR issued an air scoop for retro fitting to TR3a's very soon after they were first produced. you can pick these up from most TR suppliers for about 20euros but its a pain in the arse to fit and is only made of cardboard. some of the 3a guys make them up out of aluminium sheet!

along with an air scoop i advise putting on a kenlow set up from moss or revingtons, they come with all the bits you need and are suited to the car.

the latest kenlow fans come with a new fan blade design with much improved airflow.

the kenlows sit behind the radiator (the engine side) but do you realise you have to remove your old fan! plenty of room then.

have fun pete

:;):

menno

i have also got a TR3a and i know what you mean about the cooling?? or lack of it.