Good Morning,

I'd like to introduce myself to the forum. I'm Gordon from Maryland, USA. I'm an aircraft mechanic by trade and lucky enough to have a wife who will indulgle my hobby/affliction with TR's. I've owned a 1500 Spit, Jensen-Healy Roadster and a TR6 which I still own. I must admit, I've lurked here a bit, trying to learn about the TR3.

About 3 weeks ago I purchased a 1959 TR3A. TS56XXXL. Well, let's say I bought a trailer full of bits that are titled as a 1960! I'm in the process of sorting all the bits and pieces and it appears the car is complete except for the top half of the engine, but in rough shape. Has not been driven since 1968. It resided in a barn since then but not a perfectly dry barn. It will require drivers floor, drivers "A" post, driver inner and outer rockers, boot floor, battery box and maybe a scuttle. The wings are in very rough shape and I'm not sure about them till I get them to the dipper to get a close look.

The frame has a light surface rust but no observable perforations. It has been curbed on the right side and the lower fulcrum pins are slightly bent and the outer brackets pulled from the frame.

Now, for a question or two if I may.

What is the general consensus for either doing the frame or tub first?

The few books I've read recommend the tub first then frame but I'm not opposed to frame first. It seems to me that a square frame should be a required starting point. If the frame first, would the Revington rally frame kit be advisable?

Has anyone considered removing the lower fulcrum pin and installing TR4A-TR6 lower mounts and gussets? Since there is no original camber adjustment provided the 4-6 mounts with the vertical link would allow for some camber. Or am I out to lunch on this idea?

Thanks for your inputs, Gordon

Good Morning,