braided injection pipes

hi been looking through archive for veiws or advice on braided injector pipe`s but can`t find any I know there is some on here

any how the question is are they ok my back pastic ones have gone brittle and keep cracking

Hi Shuey

I too recall seeing the article... I happen to have a brand new spare set lurking in my garage if you are interested - still in the wrapper. I intended to put them on my TR6 (now gone sadly!). I have decided not to put them on my 5 as I wish to keep it generally as original as possible where practical.

I think these can smarten the engine bay up nicely though!

I believe there can be issues of the Stainless Braided hoses acting as a bit of a heat sink that can sometimes cause vapourisation problems from time to time - especially if the car is left stopped for a short while, though I have no experience of this.

Hope this helps.

Rgds

Edited by ianhoward

Must say in the days of mechanical injection on my 6 I have used both types without adverse effects :) but some people prefer the black ones, and they are much cheaper. I also have seen red and green pipes, but these were not my taste ;)

In the previous topics it had been mentioned that braided pipes tend to absorb/collect more heat, leading to vapor lock, but I never noticed this :)

Must say in the days of mechanical injection on my 6 I have used both types without adverse effects :) but some people prefer the black ones, and they are much cheaper. I also have seen red and green pipes, but these were not my taste ;)

In the previous topics it had been mentioned that braided pipes tend to absorb/collect more heat, leading to vapor lock, but I never noticed this :)

I agree with Jean, i have the braided hoses on mine, have been on for many years and i have not had problems with them.