another difficult question

I'm confused by another gasket (see post on thermostat cover on TR2 forum). Trying to refit the distributor, it's a real pig to get the pedastal fully down even with both dogs lined up. But the immediate problem is the gasket which provides end float for the distributor. Having worked out I need about 5 thou, I bought a gasket, but so far as I can see the hole in the middle is smaller than the shoulder on the distributor pedastal. The gasket is around 48 mm and the pedastal is about 55. Are bits of my engine off a tractor or what? Help! JJC

I don't know whether it's important, but the shop manual is very specific as to the clearance required and the procedure for fitting the pedestal. I'm not an expert, but I'm not sure they would have been as specific if it was meaningless. Anyway, I have always followed the procedure, but the gasket supplied by Moss was much too thick to get the correct clearance. I finally convinced them to get some correct ones earlier this year. They're a little too thick at 6 thou, but much better than the 16 thou they were supplying before. It shouldn't be difficult to line up the dogs. What I did was line up the bottom one first with a long screwdriver, and then line up the tang on the shaft with the slot in the oil pump. Because you have to mesh the drive gear on the camshaft, the shaft will turn as you lower it, so you start the tang off by some degrees so it lines up when it turns as it drops. Hard to explain, and it took me some practice. The key is the long screwdriver and a small flashlight to line up the slot on the oil pump. You do want to get it righ - it drives the oil pump.

The clearance is very important otherwise it bears down too much on the oil pump drive shaft and can sheer the end of the shaft or not engage properly and fail to drive. Gasket paper is available in different thickness and its easy enough to take a pattern and make your own up.

Stuart.