Worn clutch release levers

Hello,

The release levers in my TR3A clutch are worn, as the photo illustrates, evidently due to the rubbing of the release bearing.

I plan to grind the point of the levers, until getting again a smooth and flat surface.

Any hint or comment for or against this procedure?

Thanks for reading.

Jesus

When I was a poor student in college, I had this problem with my 1958 TR3A. The ends had become flat. So I took them out and MIG welded enough metal back onto the flats, then I ground them back to the smooth radius they had when they were new. It lasted quite a while, but I bought a new clutch more recently. The last time I had it apart again, I noticed that the round ends of the three levers were starting to become flat again.

They should have a smooth curve to them when new.

Don, thank you for your quick response.

I supposed that the lever point should be flat. In what direction should the curve go: along the body of the lever or across it?

Jesus

Jesus - I also remember buying 6 new levers and putting in three each of two times. Also I made sure when putting it all back together that I had the pressure plate flat and vertical so one side would not be higher than another part. I have modified your photo to show you the curve.

Don, thank you for the effort in showing me the way.

I have ground the points of the levers forming this curved surface, without adding metal by welding. I hope that they will withstand for some years like that.

Incidentally, are these release levers available at some vendor?

I bought those six release levers from a clutch and brake re-pair shop which had piles of old parts in a box under a bench. Many were really bad, some were better and 6 were new. You might have such a shop in your town. I can't direct you to a specific supplier. Try asking either a TR parts supplier or a clutch manufacturer or their suppliers.

Hello,

The release levers in my TR3A clutch are worn, as the photo illustrates,