how hard to change o rings on tr6 injectors

hi everyone newbie here, will admit here and now i'm a novice with mechanics but saying that i feel brave, my problem is a missfire and lumpy running, i've read some posts on the forum about o rings on the injectors failing. i recently took off the air intake tube and ran the car, on the 2nd cylinder [fan end, would that be 2 or 5?]was missing occasionly giving out a small flame. i turned her off and took out the injector, wich rattled when shook and dribbled a little, my quetion to you all is how hard is it to change the o rings inside the injector and do they need to be pressure tested at all? does this make sense? any ideas will be a great

regards neil

If it rattles then the O ring is almost certainly worn.

Is it the type with a wire circlip at the nozzle end? Carefully pry off the circlip, don't let it fly away, the internal parts should come out of the feed pipe end quite easily. Change the o ring, reassemble and see how well it sprays.

If it's a crimped type, I don't think they have O rings. It's not easy to dismantle, I remember Malcolm Jones saying they could be repaired once.

Cylinder 1 is at the front.

Mike.

Welcome to the Forum.

With the pump running but the engine not, the injectors should not driibble.

A light smear of vaseline on the outer O rings helps the injectors slide into the throttle bodies. The seal into the bodies must be airtight otherwise the mixture will be weak.

Do not disturb the pressure settings while you have the injectors apart. A test rig is necessary to set up the blow-off pressure.

Which O rings and where from - posted by TIMS in November:

'The late - to this Forum - Richard Crawley, led me to this site for these.

http://www.altecweb....ubcategory8110a

They are Viton.

O-Ring Viton, Imperial (Product Code ORV-BS008) Inside injector

O Ring, Viton, Imperial (Product Code ORV-BS115) Injector to push fit.

Ivor

Edited by 88V8

Welcome to the Forum.