Bonnet and louvres

Hi folks. 
thought I would share my next small task of putting louvres in my 3a bonnet. 
it’s a bid to get some heat out of the engine bay. Especially when queuing up for sprint and hillclimb runs. 
also it can’t be a racer without louvres :ph34r:

this is the bonnet after blasting. 
will be primed before louvring hopefully louvres in this bonnet and not a welded in plate. 

3EE318E1-AD09-4508-8299-9F275C3E7DFA.jpeg

7404A6FA-AC5D-4F02-8276-A3EEB746C5ED.jpeg

B7C272F3-A0E7-40EC-A4F0-6AA2C5F2AD0C.jpeg

Nice bonnet H. Now all you need to do is make sure the louvres are in the right place to work. I have no experience in this but, before you make the decision to cut make sure you know what works and what doesn't. Too  close the the windscreen is a big fail apparently......wheres Mick he will explain? :D

Iain

Edited by iain

Yes, there is a high pressure area in front of the screen that can prevent air escaping from the engine bay. However, the TR2 bonnet had 4 rather than 2 vents towards the screen. But louvres do look good Hamish!

My memory may be playing tricks, but on MGAs I think there were vents in the front wheel arches to aid air flow from the engine bat area when on the move. Any thoughts?

Mick will no do doubt list other venting options on a racing 3A.

Miles

Edited by MilesA

Hi Hamish,

As Ian says you have to beware of the high pressure area extending forwards from the base of the windscreen, that's why car manufacturers fit heater inlet vents there, they get fed with a pressured air feed into the heater which helps flow out.

The old trick with the sidescreen cars of spacing the bonnet hinge fitments upwards by maybe 1 inch does help when the car is stationary allowing hot air to seep out and the upward tilt of the bonnet at the rear feeds the air rearwards to it. When the car is in use that outward going air is compromised by the high pressure area from the windscreen which battles with it trying to stuff it back in !