Assistance please

Firstly I will say hello, I have been a member for over a while now, joining before I even had a TR, this was sorted back in November 2017 when i purchased a TR6 to go along with my mark one GT6.

I now have a TR5 and wanted to improve the instrument lighting with LED bulbs, looking at the forum and with workshop manual in hand yesterday I  managed to get get the dash out and instruments ( did this as likely I am going to go for a lighter coloured dash ) however this morning I noticed a spade connector that was not connected to anything.  From the wiring loom there are three wires two of which go to the heater switch , there is a spare male so I am not sure if I disconnected it somehow by accident when I took dash out or whether it is not supposed to be connected. I have looked at the workshop manual which does show three wires but to be honest I have little to no knowledge re car electrics.  I took a photo which I hope helps someone advise if it is to be connected.

Regards

Andy

IMG_0113.JPG

IMG_0128.JPG

Andy. 

You our should have 3 wires going to the heater switch.  So if you currently have 2 and a spare unconnected wire then likely the unconnected should go to the switch.  However the wire colours you have are different to what they should be. Have you got a Clayton heater which uses different wiring colours?

Regards

dave

Andy

Welcome to the forum and TR ownership!!

Afraid I can't help with your immediate problem, but you mention possibly changing your dash.

If you haven't already got a lighter coloured dash, I may be able to help you with one. 

If interested, send me a PM ( personal message - click on the envelope icon at the top of the page)

Cheers

Rich 

Hi Andy,

welcome to the forum.

It looks like somebody has been helping you by fitting non-standard colour wiring.

Yellow is usually for the Overdrive.

Purple for the horn

Red for the dash lights