Headlights and OD Stopped Working

I realized today that the headlights in my '63 TR4 stopped working. And the overdrive also stopped working. I'm very new to this car and not familiar with the electrical system. Thinking things through, I did just finish working on two things related to my electrics: 

1.) I just added a battery charger cable/lead to the battery. In doing so, I did touch the wrench to a ground by mistake, creating a spark. 
2.) I relocated my dip switch (up higher) to create a dead pedal spot for my left foot . 

Both fuses appear OK. And reading a few forum entries here on Triumph Experience, I understand the TR4 headlights are not fused.  

So what should I check?? Thanks in advance.

Tom.

my TR6 lights stop working if one of the leads to the dip switch falls off.  As you moved the dip switch has one of the leads dropped off when you tested it?

check the relay for the od by engaging 2nd, 3rd and 4th in turn with the ignition on but the engine not on, and engaging the od.  You should hear a click as the relay engages. If it does click then the relay and solenoid are ok.

Next check is the oil level in the gb and od (it’s shared).  Third check is that the solenoid operating lever actually is ‘set’ properly. Try steps one and two and report back and we can help with the solenoid lever check.

cheers

dave

Tom

Tread carefully on this one as you are correct that the headlight supply, or the overdrive relay supply, are not fused. 

A quick flash to ground is a spark but a dead short to ground is heat in the wire etc.

I suspect that the flash to ground and the failure are related. Look carefully at the starter solenoid and ammeter live connections . Disconnect the battery to be on the safe side.

The overdrive solenoid should be fed by the ignition key switched supply but this then switches the direct Unfused supply from the ammeter within the relay.