New Brake Master - says no silicon!

Hi,

I have a new brake master and it states on the box that if you use silicon brake fluid, the warranty is void. Does anybody know why this would be the case, as I assumed that silicon would be less harmful to the seals?

Thanks,

Colin

Hi Colin,

the seals are designed for the standard DOT 4 Ethylene Glycol.

The silicone DOT 5 has no effect on them and so they should work. (DO NOT USE MINERAL OIL)

However as mentioned above the OEM's feel that the DOT 4 works better - I'm sure they have tested DOT 5 but appear not to like it.

Lets face it - DOT 5 was designed for long term storage of US military trucks and then work 20 years later. Would you expect it to be better than DOT4.

Roger

All AP Lockheed cylinders have this warning on them for the reason that they cannot guarantee the seals if you use Silicon fluid. Most people on here know that we neither use nor recommend Silicon for the same reasons.

Stuart.

I have used Silicon for the past sixteen years & over 40,000 miles with no issues.

Cheers

Mike B)

Hi Mike,

quite right, but the OEM will not help you if you have a serious issue.

They say no - you ignore them.

I know that DOT4 will attack the paint, but so will brick walls and other traffic 'if' the brakes go tits upwards.

Roger

I have used Silicon for the past sixteen years & over 40,000 miles with no issues.

Cheers

Mike B)

Same with me. Both TR6 and GT6 have been fine with silicone fluid for 12 years and 18 years respectively.

Nigel

My last TRW master cylinder warned to use ONLY DOT3 fluid on the reservoir cap. The packaging and instruction sheet that came with it said to use ONLY DOT4 fluid.

It was a little hard to take ether one seriously, so I used DOT5.

Whenever this comes up on one of these forums, the anecdotal evidence usually seems to heavily favor DOT5.

Just sayin'.

Ed

Last time I looked the evidence was heavily against DOT 5. I'm sticking to DOT 4 .