bearings, bores, rings and things

Excuse the TR6 newbie here - first engine rebuild so taking it slow. My engine condition was unknown totally, albeit records indicate some kind of rebuild in history - if I am right 23k from rebuild. So I have taken the head off and last night removed a few bits to get a feel for problems. Bores look fairly good - smooth / no ridge at top etc, albeit I need to measure / inspect properly. Photos below show pistons / bearings. The bearings look pretty good to me,

the engraving suggests' big ends +.020 U/S, Mains 0.010 U/S - so I m assuming has been ground at some time. £40 seems to but a new set, but I was thinking these look pretty good / be kept - any views ?

rings similarly look ok, but need to measure properly . Anyone give guidance on the staining on the pistons - is this normal wear and tear / can I just clean them up etc. ??

Any views / comments appreciated. Thanks

post-15360-0-02391800-1534429985_thumb.jpg

post-15360-0-21628900-1534430007_thumb.jpg

post-15360-0-19871300-1534430162_thumb.jpg

those don't look bad, but you should check them all. Recently changed all rod and mains on my sons 74 6. The #1 main was unworn, the others were showing copper on the bearings. Apparently its nearest the oil pump so gets best oil flow. All rods were showing some copper and were evenly worn. Bearings are cheap, relatively, so since you've got things apart, why not just replace them all. Its pretty simple to do.

Can't comment on pistons, but a good cleaning always helps everything. You could always re-ring them and hone the cylinders and now you've got yourself a "hillbilly rebuild"! What the heck, you're already there

Hi there Richy,

Steady there boy, you might just be dismantling an excellent rebuilt engine with a view to putting it back together worse.

What were the engine compressions ? ( gives an indication of bore/cylinder/valve wear).