I have bought a TR3A fitted with rack & pinion steering. It is very light even with 22psi in front tyres. Currently running on 165x15 Vredestein.

I want to replace the tyres either with 155x15 Pirelli Cinturato or 165x15 Michelin XAS FF

Which tyre do members recommend that would also stiffen up the steering?

I've just bought 165x15 Michelin XZX tyres for my TR3a - on a steering box I'm afraid so not a great like for like, but if it helps, Longstone Tyres were doing a good deal for 5 (£516 delivered inc VAT)

I'm no expert but I would have thought the only way to stiffen up the steering would be to increase the resistance of the tyres on the road. Increasing the width to 185 x 15 would do this but you'll have problems elsewhere. Lowering the tyre pressure would also increase resistance but I would have thought this would be a bad move - dangerous and they'll wear unevenly.

You could always change it back to a steering box - not only more original but you'll have arms like Popeye in a week or so.

Edited by rhino_mac

As pointed out the only way is to increase the tyre width and reduce the tyre profile. Suspect that's not what you want, check the toe in and see what it's set at.

Mick Richards

Not strictly relevant to this thread, but tyre related.

Having just replaced two rear tyres on my 6, I was wondering what the recommendation is for which axle the best tyres should be on.

The fronts are fine but obviously the new rears are better; what do people (or tyre experts) suggest?

Thanks

Allan

I would always have the best tyres on the front.

That is where most of the braking force is, & where you want the most grip for steering in slippery conditions.

If the back looses grip (on a corner) you can usually bring it back by backing off, if the front goes it's brown trouser time !

Bob.

Sorry guys the "front or back" for tyre fitment is a question often put and easily answered.