Handbrake compensator - what does it do ?

I'm just getting into the rear suspension and axle of my TR3 and with all of the **** removed I can now see the assembly that actuates the handbrake via the cables to the rear wheel cylinders.

The manual calls this a "compensator bar" and I wonder what it is compensating for ?. I get that it provides a pivot for the three legged gizmo that the cables attach to and I see why it needs felt seals as the gizmo seems to have a grease fitting at each end.

Is this thing supposed to provide adjustment or is the goal only to allow it to rotate about the two axis ?

Stan

Stan, it's just a simple device to even up shoe pressure on the drum side to side.

Works well too as a properly adjusted handbrake will lock up the rear wheels.

Viv.

Ha !. too bad they didnt keep that design through the TR6 !

Thanks Viv. Is the installation as simple as screw the parts together so that they are snug but still freely rotate ?

Stan

Ha !. too bad they didnt keep that design through the TR6 !

Thanks Viv. Is the installation as simple as screw the parts together so that they are snug but still freely rotate ?

Stan

Clean all the old grease out and then fit new felt seals and grease the threads, then screw it in until it is tight and then just back it off until it is in the correct upwards orientation. Grease through the nipple when assembled just enough to see it appear around the seals..

Stuart.

First, push hard on the footbrake to centre the shoes, then adjust the position of the shoes within the drum, a quarter turn at a time, until the brake is just binding, then back-off a quarter turn and check that the drum rotates freely. If necessary, press hard on the footbrake and repeat the adjustment. Repeat process for the other rear wheel.