TR Fender Skirts / Spats

Hello all,

Well ... I guess you either love 'em, or you hate 'em!

As for me, I became overwhelmingly converted to "spats" several years ago, after seeing the grainy footage of Triumph's own test driver Ken Richardson tearing down the measured mile at 124mph behind the wheel of his "speed trim" TR2 at the 1953 Speed Trials in Jabbeke, Belgium. I personally think they make a pretty handsome addition to any side screen TR. (But hey, to each his own...!)

Admiring them of course, is one thing. Actually getting your hands on a set is another matter entirely!

I presently drive a (steel wheel) '59 TR3A, and I would dearly love to discover if anyone (or any company) is currently reproducing these particular aftermarket parts.

Any information (or indeed, your own opinions or pics of fender skirts / spats in general) would of course be very gratefully received.

Many thanks all,

Kind regards,

Joe.

Hi Joe,

As far as I know (I'm no expert) Standard Triumph never sold any of the aerodynamic equipment used on the speed trial and race cars, spats or skirts included. While I've seen these skirts on an occasional car, I've not noticed them in accessory catalogs either but perhaps I haven't found the right one. Lacking a source for ready made skirts, what about getting a pair made? It seems like an interesting sheet metal project and appears to be within the capability of an average amateur panel beater and certainly any pro. Here's an idea from JCWhitney on how to attach them: Skirt Installation Instructions

Tom

Joe, the Rear Wheel Cover Kit was listed as a S-T accessory for TR2 under p/n 552083, but it's been suggested the factory quietly discontinued them after reports of overheating rear brakes.

Repro spats with fixings were offered a few years back by The Roadster Factory in PA, USA, also under p/n 552083. You could contact them to see if any remain in stock.