Long door TR2 Restoration

Hi,

I'm new to the TR Register UK. I am a long term TR owner having owned a short door TR2 (TS5038O) for 42 years and been a member of the Australian TR Register since 1976. I now also have a 1970 TR6 PI and a long door TR2 (TS3732O) which I am rebuilding. The short door TR2 and the TR6 are everyday drivers. I have attached some photos.

The restoration long door TR2 has a BRG coat on it but I will be finishing it in its original scheme of signal red, brown leather and fawn weather gear. These rare cars are even rarer in Australia so advice on originality is hard to come by.

The car is undergoing a body off total rebuild with the objective of it being as original as possible and as close to concours standard as I can get it.The body shop has a Facebook page called the Classic Factory, located in Sydney, where details of the body work will be posted.

The body tub is currently being prepared for painting and I would like to find photos of long door cars with engine bay, interior and underbody details including original finishes.

In particular right now I need to know the finishes on the master cylinder tray, the through firewall connections for the heater hoses, brake pedals and front guard splash guards. I.e. body colour, chrome or black (gloss or matt)?

I'm looking forward to using the wealth of knowledge available from members of the TR Register UK to get another TR2 restored.

John

post-9306-0-92636400-1516070031_thumb.jpg

post-9306-0-62959600-1516070122_thumb.jpg

post-9306-0-03553400-1516070377_thumb.jpg

Hi John,

Great to have you on the Forum and even better news

thart you will be putting another long door TR2 on the road.

You realise, of course, that you don't OWN the TR2.

IT owns you - you are just the custodian for the time being

(and I hope a long time with much fun associated with it).

Bill Piggott has done a series of books on Original TRs so

try to get your hand on a copy. Get the latest version that