Registration documents

Hi,i'm new to all this so any help would be appreciated.I've just bought a TR6,but have no documents or number plates with it, also the vin plate is missing.Its been stood in a barn for 22 years so is a bit of a basket case.I have an engine number (CP29510 UE,according to the heritage centre it may possibly be wrongly stamped last letters and should be HE ).I also have a body number (25602 CF,maybe CP,its hard to tell ).Heritage tell me body number doesn't match my photos, due to wrong colour (primer and blue) and wheels (standard steels but with larger tyres )Does anyone know if the vin number is stamped anywhere else rather than L\H inner wheel arch or on the screen surround?.The Heritage centre haven't been very helpful and i'm wondering if i should give up on this project if i can't get it registered.It has been suggested i might be able to buy a log book or complete old vehicle and swap bits over .What does anyone think.Thanks for any help.Regards Tony

With all the imformation you havn't got I would think that your cause is hopeless. The TR6, or any other make for that matter, of this age did not have a VIN number per se but would have had a commision number which would have been on a plate on the inner n/s front wing or for later cars on the passenger B post. The engine number is of little consequence as it possibly is not the original engine. The Dvla may be able to help but I wouldn't hold my breath.

you need the vin/chassis number as it states in the form to register (V something) with out that the form will be returned to you.I nearly went through this until I saw the TR in the flesh today and promptly backed out of it.

Regards Harry

You can do a heritage trace from just the engine number. It sounds like a 1969 model from the body number, but check the engine number. Are you sure it is not CP 26*** or CP25***. Is the windscreen surround body colour or black?

Cheers John