programmable ignition

I read that Accuspark are offering a programmable ignition box for under £100. I have been using a Accuspark system for three years and am very happy with the result however as most owners I want my engine to run as efficiently as possible and at the same time offering the best performance. As my knowledge of the more technical aspects of ignition is limited I would be grateful others views also what should I expect if fitted.

I run a standard 4A engine re built two years ago following a split liner also professionally re built carbs four years ago.

Chris

From the theory a ignition timing as precises as +/-3 degrees compared to the

theoretically perfect timing at any engine working point is required to get the best results.

The required timing relies on filling of cylinders and rpm of the engine

if the engine is seen as a black box to make it not too complicated.

(Any change of compression, mixture by the carbs or cam as the main

influence would change the timing requirements)

That will require a full 3D ignition table with rpm and MAP/TPS at the axes

like MegaSquirt and Megajolt can provide.

The question is how deep somebody is willing to step into that topic

and how precise he will be able to get the required data.

The accepted minimum for ignition advance is the rpm advance,

nearly every 4-stroke engine will provide that.

Next step is the vaccuum advance that most engines provide

but at this stage the first different opinions occure.

It is showing the above mentioned filling of the cylinders.

Especially when carbs like Weber DCOE are added, the vaccuum is often

disconnected. Unknown by many is that even a connected vaccuum advance on a

conventional distributor will fail to work perfectly when the cam is changed seriously.

So many tuned engines run without or with a limited vaccuum advance system

what more or less costs some fuel and crispy response to the throttle.