What make of Brake/Clutch Fluid

Hi Guys,

Well the TR has been stripped and shipped to a Bodyshop in Surrey, if it comes back looking great I will recommend the shop to you all. In the meantime I had stripped out the pedal box which will be blasted and powder coated and I intend to flush out the system when I renew the brakes on re-assembling.

Could someone please tell me what I should use to refill the reconditioned cylinders as I have no experience of synthetic ot whatever.

Many thanks

Charles

Hi Charles,

to expand on Pete's reply.

DOT 5.1 is a polyethylene glycol-based fluid and was designed for modern cars with ABS. It has temp range simllar to its silcone counterpart.

DOT 5 is a silcone based fluid (SBF). It is generally accepted that it is not interchangeable or should not be mixed with the other fluids.

DOT 4 is the same as DOT 5.1 but with a lower temp range in its basic form, This is used for cars without ABS. It can be bought in various grades that encompass road going and racing.

DOT4 & 5.1 work very well BUT!! it can absorb water which reduces it effectivity and may cause rusting to Ferrous components. It should be changed every two years.

It is also a very useful paint stripper for most paints. Cellulose comes off a treat. 2 pack is more resistant but could be affected.

DOT 5 was designed to be used for long term storage and normal use in the military so it has a little compromise in it.

It does not absorb water BUT!! does not stop water getting into the system - so rust could still happen.

It will not strip your paint work but could contaminate it if you ever do touch ups to paint.

Many people swear by it, many people swear at it.

Not used by industry to any great extent.

I use Halfords DOT4 Super and it works fine. The idea is to keep the fluid in the pipes.

Roger

Dot 4 Super, which has a significantly higher boiling point than traditional Dot 4, is probably the best bet.