TR4 Axle pinion flang torque

HI, I'm new to the register after recently purchasing a 1964 TR4. One of the jobs to do is to attend to the leaking axle pinion oil seal, which seemed like a straightforward job until I started to read up on the required torque setting for the pinion nut. Looking through various threads it seems to be a very confusing subject with reference to mistakes in printed manuals. I have read that the torque should be 15-18 Inch/Lbs which equates to around 1-1.5 Ft/lbs. Now it is many years since I used a torque wrench in anger, but 1.5 Ft/Lbs seems to me to be very slight and I could well over tighten the pinion nut with just the weight of the torque wrench itself without even pulling on it.

Any assistance from the group would be much appreciated as I'm sure this is job that comes around on a regular basis and I don't want to damage the bearings or crown wheel and pinion gears by under/over tightening.

Regards

Mark

Hi Mark,

These figures are shown in the Workshop manual (correctly) as 85-100 lb ft (that's foot), whatever other manuals you have that show differently need

chucking.

Not quite clear what threads have shown anything differently, I thought these were well established figures.

Mick Richards

Mark,

I've sent you a PM ( Personal Message) via the Personal messenger service. To review go to the top of the page and look for your name, there is a little triangle to the right of it which when pressed will give you a drop down and show you a PM to you from myself. Have a read and send me one back if you want.

Mick Richards

According to my (reprint) WSM the 15-18 lb-in torque is that required to check that the pinion pre-load is set correctly - page 3.111 in my book. The pinion flange is 85-100 lb-ft as Mickey says and that's in the torque settings part of the manual at the front. So my WSM seems to be OK in this respect at least.

Edited by peejay4A