4-Cylinder TR Alloy Heads in Motorsport

Hi Jon,

I have no experience of these alloy heads, what are the reported problems in competition use ?

Mick Richards

There was a TR4 running around down here with an alloy head on it though I never got to try it, heresay is they are OK for the road but not so good for race.

Stuart.

Head gasket sealing's the main problem, with failure to set cold valve lash correctly another.

A really fine piece of kit IMO, let down by peripherals & lack of thought in installation.

Those who have suffered report overheating after as little as ten minutes at race pace; I would just like to establish the scale of the problems before making any further pronouncements on the subject.

Thanks

SPMPW

Give Steve a call at tr enterprises. He has fitted & discarded alloy heads in competition :)

Thanks Stiggy, I'm aware of TRE's issues & am not seeking a solution, as I have one, hence my positive take on alloy heads.

Those that have binned them have made a grave mistake; all will be told if there's sufficient interest.

The product is first-class, it's the way it's fitted that's the problem.

Well go on then, Im sure it would be of interest. ;)

Stuart.

Charles Runyan, proprietor of The Roadster Factory, just installed an alloy head during the engine restoration of his long-term TR3A and promises to give updates and reports.

Edited by Don H.

Looks like Bob Goldman et al have used an alloy head on the Moss TR4 Four cyl TR with blower, test bed car.

http://www.mossmotors.com/forum/forums/thread/24700.aspx

I like that!!

Plenum looks to favour #1 and 2 though.

That looks like a very nice bit of kit ...... But not a Motorsport application due to the regulations ..... Blown = 50% more cc in the eyes of the rule makers, so that's us up against the v8's .....

• 3 weeks later...

I saw a picture once of a TR4 alloy head with hemispheric chambers. Anybody knows anything about this?